1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling defeated

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by JAFF23, Mar 16, 2016.

1. JAFF23

JAFF23 Occasional commenter

I used to love teaching but now it seems a drag to even get out of bed. Posted on here previously that I am on informal capability. My recent observation was a no brainer really: no way was I going to get what previously would have been good: ended up with RI so need to chat with SLt to put together some goals followed by yet another observation. A colleague put me in the right direction and told me to start job hunting but my confidence has been knocked severely. I always thought and have been told (even now) that I am a capable teacher however putting a smile on my face and going through another interview in which you have to ramble of a load of xxxx just to get a job puts me off completely!! Sorry for the rant!!!

JeannieMc likes this.
  2. katykook

katykook Occasional commenter

Of course you're not going to feel like job hunting when you feel so low. Wait until the holidays when you have some space to think. For now focus on your teaching but don't over think it. The problem with this whole process is that teaching doesn't come naturally any more as you try to jump through their hoops.
    Treat yourself well - you know you are a good teacher.

JeannieMc likes this.
  3. maud1901

maud1901 New commenter