1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling a little lost trying to qualify as a teacher...

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by lateseptember, Jul 31, 2011.

1. First of all, Hi everyone! This is my first post, however I have been a lurker for a year or so. I'm having some trouble with getting into teaching, probably best of I start from the beginning...

...About 2 years ago, just after I got my degree in Graphic Image Making I decided that I was unhappy with the prospect of working in retail for the rest of my life, and that I have no idea what to do as a career. I spoke at length to a few different career advisers and it was suggested that I look at teaching, specifically Art & Design in post-compulsory education. Shortly afterwards I enrolled in my local college's PTLLS course as a taster of what being a teacher might be like, all the while looking for job opportunities which would allow me to train. I absolutely loved the PTLLS programme and really felt I was on the right track.

Since then I have achieved very little else. I know in order to complete CTLLS/DTLLS I need regular access to teaching hours (at least 4 hours per week), and that the usual route is to work in an ancillary role within a school or college and train within the same establishment. However I have been unsuccessful in every job I have applied for at a school or college based on my lack of relevant work experience. Due to financial restraints I cannot afford to volunteer and I do not have the time or flexibility in my current job to commit to evening classes for voluntary work (I work 45 hours per week, long shifts which usually finish between 8pm and 10pm everyday).