1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling a bit down.

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Supplygirl111, May 21, 2020.

1. Supplygirl111

Supplygirl111 New commenter

I graduated in 2019 and I have been a supply teacher since.
    I am trying to apply for jobs but not hearing back :( I asked the other day about how far is too far for travel, but there just seems to be hardly any jobs around me;
    I saw a girl from my PGCE last year post she has landed her first job and it got me down since I feel i'm still going to be on supply come the next academic term and I just feel my time is not coming :(

2. e_stevenson82

e_stevenson82 New commenter

Don't give up, you're gaining loads of experience on supply. Can you get some feedback on your personal statement from uni or SLT contacts you have made?

3. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Hi supplygirl111

Of course you are feeling a bit down. Who wouldn't in the middle of a pandemic when they are looking for employment. I am sure many on here would read your post and empathise with you.

Firstly, try not to compare yourself with others which is hard to do ; but if you do, that will definitely make you unhappy.

Secondly, you do have a dilemma about travelling, but is there any way around it?

Is it possible for you to move? Or say live near your school in the week and travel back to your main home?

Even in the best of times it is difficult to find a good school - one where the behaviour is good and the school well managed. At least this way, you have time to have a good look around and choose somewhere you are going to be happy.