1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling a bit deflated....

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Saltycaramel, Oct 4, 2016.

1. Saltycaramel

Saltycaramel New commenter

I'm a private music tutor, female and in my late 30s. I've taught privately since i graduated around 18 years ago.

I've felt for some years now that i put much more in than what i get back with many students and it leaves me feeling drained a lot of the time. With iPads and all the other "exciting" gadgets nowadays, it's getting more difficult to get young kids interested and keep them interested in learning an instrument. A lot of them do so many other activities too that they really don't have time to practise.

Today though, three things kind of bothered me a bit. I should say that I've not been sleeping well recently and am not feeling too good, so it's maybe just an overreaction because of that.

A retired man i've started teaching seems to get a bit annoyed at me whenever i help him if he makes a mistake. I'm now just letting him make mistakes and fix them for himself rather than be snapped at. I'm not doing my job though and this bothers me a little. This has happened once before to me with an older, retired professional man who ended up leaving. He always mentioned how i was so young compared to him.