1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

feel intimidated by a pupil, and forced to be left alone with him

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by LittleStreams, Feb 14, 2011.

1. LittleStreams

LittleStreams New commenter

I work as a Cover Supervisor.
    I normally like me school, and I have felt supported thus far, but then I haven't had any incidences that have really required a lot of support. I have been able to deal with things mostly on my own.
    I covered a particuarly challenging group, and had a particuarly rough time of it. I had 2 students removed for their behaviour. When I called for back up from a Senior Member of Staff, she said that the other members of the class who were misbehaving had to remain in at lunch. Well, two stayed. But the others walked out, with one boy in particular swearing at me and being quite agressive in his mannerisms.
    One of the jobs I do is internal exlusion, and I requested that I not be alone with him during that time as I feel unsafe around him.
    Today I was given external inclusion duty, and was left alone with teh boy. He was rude, swearing at me and was threatening, just as I expected.
    To make things worse, he wasn't even in there for the incident that happened on Friday, but for something else. I feel unsupported.

2. Your feeling of being supported was therefore an illusion.From what you say, when you needed support your request for it was ignored.