1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fed up!

Discussion in 'Part-time and job share' started by 8sycamore, Sep 29, 2017.

1. 8sycamore

8sycamore New commenter

I work 0.6 (three full days) in an indy school. It is my third year at this school, but I have been teaching for 12 years. I am so fed up with the way things are going that I am desperate to get out. I knew in an indy there would be more extra curricular demands, but this is ridiculous. Every single one of my lunchtimes is taken over by compulsory meetings and a club and I am expected to come in on non-working days for evening events. With no extra pay. Round trip is 90 minutes. On those days I can't do much because I have to go into work. I have to split a form tutor role fifty-fifty with a full-timer, who also has another paid responsibility role within the school. I really resent all this, especially as I am just a bog standard teacher, with no paid responsibilities. I like to get out of the building some lunchtimes, especially since I have been scheduled to teach right until the end of the day every day. Does anyone know, are we paid for lunchtimes? Can they insist on attendance at events on my days off? I feel like there is an attitude that teachers are some kind of saints. I'm not. I work really hard, spend free time on lesson prep and always have great observation feedback, but I go to work to earn money, not for fun!

2. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

indies set own rules....

3. frustum

frustum Lead commenter

Statutory entitlement is that you are entitled to an uninterrupted 20 minute rest break if your working day is 6 hours or more.