1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

FCSE - French and German

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by chriszwinter, Dec 31, 2010.

1. chriszwinter

chriszwinter New commenter

<font size="3">I'm in my second year of doing it Here are some thoughts based on that experience.</font> <font size="3">Pros:

2. Random175

Random175 New commenter

It does improve motivation. It makes the teacher emphasise the importance of the verb, time phrases and tenses. However students do not need adverbs or adjectives or connectives to get level 4 5 or 6. There is little need to know anything about conjugation of verbs. However it does make it possible for the very weak to get a level 4 and a certificate which makes them feel good and proud about their language learning. On balance good to introduce for KS3 and does provide assessment material across all four skills which are independently verified so reliable as far as SLT and Ofsted are concerned.

3. HelenMyers

HelenMyers New commenter

Into our 3rd year of doing it - I would definitely recommend it, especially for lower sets in Year 9. (Higher ones can manage Asset)

4. lifereallyistooshort

lifereallyistooshort New commenter

We're thinking of introducing FCSE for KS4 pupils who do a reduced MFL timetable (weak set). Would it work with this age group (2 lessons a week)? I see that AQA claim it is a suitable qualification at this level as well as at KS3.

5. BrightonEarly

BrightonEarly Occasional commenter