1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fast-track to leadership?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by eoinmccormick, Oct 14, 2015.

1. eoinmccormick

eoinmccormick New commenter

Hi all, I'm due to finish my PGCE in secondary Maths in February. I wanted to know what would be the quickest route for me to get into leadership in schools. I have 16 years experience working in other fields.
    Essentially my question is how do i progress quickly?

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

1) Become an outstanding teacher

2) Work collaboratively with colleagues to spread good practice

3) Become 2 i/c Maths after a few years

4) Become HoD Maths after a few more years

5) Take on whole-school projects that impact on large numbers of pupils and complete them successfully

6) Go into Senior Leadership

It's a bit like baking bread, actually. You need time to rise. ;)

Best wishes

3. MrTeacher100

MrTeacher100 New commenter

Why the rush? Take the time to learn your trade and don't try to run before you can walk.