1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

FAO SLSGhost

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by chicabonita, Jun 23, 2015.

1. chicabonita

chicabonita New commenter

Hello, I've been recommended to contact you about a bit of career advice! I'm thinking of doing a postgrad qualification in law (either the GDL or an LLM, different providers seem to recommend different things) with a view to becoming a solicitor or a barrister from a non-law graduate starting position. I've been a teacher for 8 years and have other work experience prior to that. My lawyer friend says DON'T DO IT! I can't imagine ever teaching full-time again for a whole variety of reasons, so am I committing the same error as someone who says, "yeah, I wanted to spend more quality family time together so I thought I'd become a teacher"?

2. GLsghost

GLsghost Star commenter

Don't know that I'm qualified to give career advice - but I am happy to share what I know.

How do you think I might be able to help?

3. chicabonita

Sorry, I got your name wrong! *embarrassed*

I've always (since graduating) fancied going into Law. I did French and Politics, and after graduating I did apply for some contracts with conversion and training, but I got a job in Spain so I never followed them up. I'm currently working part time as I've a young child, but want to build up my hours as she grows up a bit and I honestly can't see myself working full-time in teaching again, it's made me ill twice. I've got some money and was wondering whether now is the time to do a graduate conversion course, followed by LPC or the barrister equivalent... and what I ought to consider before going for it?