1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fantasy Topic Role Play

Discussion in 'Primary' started by kate1610, Feb 15, 2012.

1. kate1610

kate1610 New commenter

Hi, I am new to reception and I would love anyone's ideas for fantasy topic role play areas. After a 'brainstorming session' last term the children have chosen the following areas: We are starting off with a magic shop selling magical creatures and wands, then we are moving onto a magic school - other than blackboards and potions I'm a bit stuck with what else to put in there. We're then going to change to Hansel & Gretel with the Gingerbread cottage and Rapunzels tower. I am struggling to think of things to put in these and don't really have the budget to buy all the puppets. The reason we change the role play area every couple of weeks is because the children love a new area when we first set it up but soon lose interest after a couple of weeks. I always include the children in setting up the area and they decide what goes in there but I like to have a few ideas in mind myself first so I know what materials to start gathering together. The role play area is very small - just enough for a couple of tables and maybe 4 children. I will obviously set up related activities around the classroom such as in the writing area, creative corner and sand tray so any related activities would be great too. Thank you!

2. hayleyrm

hayleyrm New commenter