1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fair planning in a two form entry

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Mehra, Feb 1, 2016.

1. Mehra

Mehra New commenter

Hi

I am a part time teacher who takes the afternoon subjects in a two form entry.

In the mornings my colleague who works in the same class as me plans the maths and the other class teacher plans the literacy.

I am planning most of the foundation subjects, whilst the other class teacher plans one of the afternoon subject. At the beginning of the year we were planning on sharing the planning but it seems that the bulk of the planning for foundation subjects has fallen to me.

On Monday I plan both subjects in the afternoon,I plan one lesson on Tuesday afternoon where the other teacher has PPA time but her HLTA has agreed to plan the other subject. Wednesday; we simply do spellings and then another subject which I plan. Then on Thursday other teacher plans one lesson whilst I plan the other. So out of all the subjects Monday to Thursday I plan a total of 4/7 subjects aswell as a big write lesson (which I do not teach) on a Friday: so a total of 5.

The other subjects that are planned are a total of 3/7. Friday we all have PPA.

Seeing as this was a two form entry school, I thought I would be considered as the other half of the teacher that teaches my class in the mornings. So thought that it would be fair if the planning in the afternoon would be shared out equally aswell.

I suggested: in one term one teacher plans 3 lessons and the other 4, and then the next term it is switched over.

Am I being unreasonable here or does my method seem to be fair?

2. Calamity54321

Calamity54321 New commenter

I was tired - removed!