1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Failing my PGCE within the last 2 weeks over 1 lesson

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by tommarks13397, Jun 8, 2019.

1. Hello all, I am a PGCE student with a Physics degree about to finish my course.

I have passed all the stages in my course so far with my April progress report against the teaching standards being mostly 1's,2;s and 3 3's. These were Organisation, behavior management, and wider school commitment.

When I asked what i can do to move to "good" on these three points I was given a list by my school mentor. One included creating an 8 lesson long scheme of work for my school to use. They said I would achieve an outstanding on "wider school commitments" if I did this. So I did.

Fast forward to May for my university observation and my behavior management was very bad. The uni tutor had lots of positives on and told me what i needed to do to sort everything out. After she had left my mentor spoke to her on her way out of the school. Their discussion then raised me as a "cause for concern" over my behavior management. My assessment document did not reflect this and I was not informed this discussion would be had until it had happened.

My university tutor observed another lesson 3 days later (lots of time to practice my new behavior techniques of course) and said it was an amazing lesson, even quoting my method of maths motivation in science in her session at university. I was taken off from cause for concern.