1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Failing in teaching

Discussion in 'Primary' started by genb, Jun 26, 2019.

1. genb

genb New commenter

Hello,

I feel I'm massively failing as a teacher. I went back to teaching 3 days a week after finishing maternity leave at the end of February. I am an inexperienced teacher and had only been responsible for a class for 5 months prior to my maternity leave.

I have been put in a very challenging year 4 class who have had a number of teachers this year. Some teachers have left others refuse to teach them.

The behaviour in the class is horrendous (chair throwing,angry outbursts, arguments and fights are not uncommon) and disrespect is high (I get called all many of offensive names). Many of the children refuse to listen to me and talk over instruction making it increasingly difficult to teach and I feel the children are not learning. Some of the children tell me they hate me.

I've tried many different strategies to improve the class but I feel it just keeps getting worse. The stress and anxiety of teaching the class makes me not want to be there.

Any suggestions on things that may help?

2. nmason

nmason New commenter

It’s hard enough returning after maternity leave, let alone being placed in your situation! Firstly, you are not failing, the SLT is, what are they doing to support you and rectify this situation? Are you working closely with your job share to insure continuity and communications are clear? X

3. sooooexcited

sooooexcited Occasional commenter

Speak to your NQT mentor for support.

4. genb

genb New commenter