1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

EYFS training

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by maggieDD, Jan 28, 2016.

1. maggieDD

maggieDD New commenter

Hi,

I've been working as a primary TA for several years now and recently graduated with a degree in Childhood and Youth Studies. The school where I work are offering the opportunity to apply for a salaried position on their train to teach programme. I have had so many conflicting thoughts about this, on one hand I love teaching and can't imagine doing anything else, on the other hand, I am fully aware that the role of a TA and that of a teacher is very different and listening to other teachers as well as comments on various forums, most teachers are beyond stressed and don't advise anyone embark on the career! This is due to the huge workload as well as the issue of schools becoming 'test factories'.
    My head has asked whether I'd be interested in EYFS training, which I would. I would be grateful for any advice on how EYFS and key stage teaching differs.

Regards
    Maggie

2. Camokidmommy

Camokidmommy Established commenter

EY is a very different to KS1 or 2. It is supposed to be much more child led, although there are schools where this is not the case.
    in EY the curriculum is taken from Development Matters, although this is not designed to be a tick list. it is a very useful document which you could look at as a starting point, plenty of good ideas in it.
    teaching in EY is very demanding in terms of childrens maturity, they are still very young and they can be very needy.