1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

eyfs - different activities

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Humii, Oct 12, 2011.

1. Hope you can all help...I'm really confused!
    It's my first year working in Reception and it's all new. I'm unsure about how the activities are set out. I have been told that when I am working with a group of children doing a focused activity the rest of the class can choose any area they wish to learn and play at. Must I set some activities out on these learning areas like the maths table, or for creative development or do the children just choose whatever they would like to do.
    Also does anyone have any ideas for encouraging the children to write.

2. Suppose it depends what you define 'child initiated' to be. Most Receptions settings I have been in, would provide resources and activties linked to the current topic/theme and children's current interests. That is mostly how I have worked in the past. On the other hand, some settings encourage children to access resources freely to decide themselves what they want to use and do with them.
    Outdoors - provide chalk, water and paintbrushes. Clipboards and recording sheets for weather, animals, minibeasts and plants they can find outside. Could set up an office in your classroom, provide post its, envelopes etc. Ensure there is opportunities for writing in the role play area.
    Link writing activties to the current topic and make it writing for a purpose. Hope someof that might help [​IMG]