1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

EY Classroom - what and how to set up!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by foresta, Jul 12, 2011.

1. I'm new to EYFS (been teaching for 15 yrs in KS1) so am trying to get my head around my indoor/outdoor space.
    On a recent course we were advised to get rid of tables. Change role play areas regularly otherwise they get bored and start to trash it! I think 3/4 weeks is a good time frame but obviously depends on your theme/focus.
    Try to incorporate the 6 areas of learning but if you can't, swap them around over the half term.
    I've talked a lot to the TA's that work in EYFS already to try and determine what works -or not!
    Also try and get into some other settings to see what they do. We did this this morning and it was brilliant! Picked up some good ideas.
    We will probably make mistakes along the way but that's how we learn isn't it!
    Louise

2. Unless you really hate what is in place already, why don't you work with it for a bit? Sometimes you can change things because you feel it is not for you only to find that there was a valid reason that things were organised in that particular way, for example the traffic of children around a room or the pathway to the loo. My advice...suck it and see for awhile.

3. Msz

Msz Established commenter

[​IMG] children don't trash things because they are borded they trash things because they haven't been taught to respect property...
    Look at ABCDoes...

4. vannie

vannie Star commenter

As far as role play goes I would definitely look at the ABC Does blog. There is also a great thread on here about the idea of 'deconstructed role play'.