1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Extremism & British Values

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by SPK482, Jul 18, 2015.

1. Dear all,

I am not a head-teacher, but I have trespassed into this forum because I am writing a book on the topics of my post's title. I am a classroom teacher, but I am interested in contributions from anyone who either has thoughts on the government's request to teach British values as a counter to the lure of extremism, or anyone with experience of dealing with extremism in your schools.

If anyone would like to contribute, please send me a PM.

Best regards,

SPK482

2. fab208

fab208 New commenter

Well, in my opinion it is taking a sledgehammer to crack a nut. I think the government has to be seen to be doing something so comes up with a half witted idea that even they can't explain, much less articulate as a vision of how it will have a lasting and meaningful impact on children's lives and social cohesion. The concept of British values is at best nebulous and too vague to be effectively taught in primary schools, at worst it is a load of jingoistic nonsense advocating all the 'values' of democracy and free speech that Britain likes to think it upholds, as long as the powers that be agree with the view you are expressing.