1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Extra work during detention

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by kfw_88, Apr 24, 2013.

1. I am a student teacher and recently issued a detention for which I prepared extra work for the pupil to complete, I also made sure we discussed the reasons for the detention. However, once the pupil had left I was told by his usual teacher that I shouldn't give extra work. When I asked why I was told it was not something she did. I felt that extra work gave more depth to the detention rather than the pupils sitting in silence pretending to reflect on their behaviour. I double checked the schools behaviour and discipline policy and extra work is listed as a sanction so why did I feel that I had done wrong?! I look forward to hearing your opinion(s) on this. Thank you

2. I am a student teacher and recently issued a detention for which I prepared extra work for the pupil to complete, I also made sure we discussed the reasons for the detention. However, once the pupil had left I was told by his usual teacher that I shouldn't give extra work. When I asked why I was told it was not something she did. I felt that extra work gave more depth to the detention rather than the pupils sitting in silence pretending to reflect on their behaviour. I double checked the schools behaviour and discipline policy and extra work is listed as a sanction so why did I feel that I had done wrong?! I look forward to hearing your opinion(s) on this. Thank you

3. you felt wrong because the 'usual teacher' made you feel wrong. You're inexperienced, they're not, the default position will be to question your own practice, because that is what student teachers - rightly - do.