1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Extended Writing?

Discussion in 'English' started by ericastill, Apr 4, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm an American teacher looking for a job here and I've just been invited to an interview. I've been asked to teach a lesson and the only instruction I was given is "Using a stimulus of your choice plan a 30 minute lesson to develop an aspect of
    students? extended writing skills." It's a year 7 multi-ability class, 30 students.

First of all, in terms of the English curriculum here in England, what exactly does "Extended Writing" mean? Is it as vague as it sounds? I haven't been able to find a straight definition online.

Since I only have a short time, I was thinking of doing a brief lesson and activity on "showing vs. telling." In your teacherly opinions, would this be suitable?

I'd really appreciate any help -- this is my first interview so i don't know exactly what to expect.

Thanks!
    Erica

2. Hi everyone,

I'm an American teacher looking for a job here and I've just been invited to an interview. I've been asked to teach a lesson and the only instruction I was given is "Using a stimulus of your choice plan a 30 minute lesson to develop an aspect of
    students? extended writing skills." It's a year 7 multi-ability class, 30 students.

First of all, in terms of the English curriculum here in England, what exactly does "Extended Writing" mean? Is it as vague as it sounds? I haven't been able to find a straight definition online.

Since I only have a short time, I was thinking of doing a brief lesson and activity on "showing vs. telling." In your teacherly opinions, would this be suitable?