1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Experience versus correct interview answer!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by TheCrew, Jul 20, 2012.

1. Hi

I just had a very informal interview up against a colleague. I had to write an application letter for an in house job then was only give 10 minutes notice of a meeting which turned out to be an interview with the Head and Deputy. the outcome was I didn't get the job even though I have 10 years experience in the area and the other candidate has NO relevant experience, but used correct set of expected phrases in the answer to ONE question - which were completely irrelevant to the two children the post is for! What do you think??

2. There are so many different interpretations of this and only those who interviewed you know exactly why you didn't get the job. The reasons given for why you didn't get the job certainly sound like 'HR speak' and are probably not the full reason.
    It could be that she got the job because she is a) the better candidate b) Cheaper than you c) unfairly favoured by the Head.
    You were not given the job because a) You are somehow out of favour b) Were considered 'stuck' in your ways after 10 years in the job c) Unfairly treated by the Head.
    You are probably best placed to judge the reason that you didn't get the job. Are you in a redundancy position, seeking additional hours or promotion?
    I would be feeling very upset in your position. Consider carefully the reasons. Could this candidate simply be better suited to the job? How do you know what answers they gave to interview questions?