1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Experience before GTP/SDP

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by harrydp, Sep 11, 2012.

1. Hello,

I'm looking to apply for the SD (Salaried) scheme this year and am under the impression that a list of schools will be published in October who you are then able to apply to for a place but am seeking clarification on this myself.

It seems for this scheme, 3 years of career experience is needed as well as, an unspecified amount of relevant, classroom experience. I'm currently a trainee accountant who is trying to become a primary school teacher in answer to your last question.

2. Interesting, thanks. I`m also looking at primary and will have to keep an eye out for this list. I`ve been working over 3 years, first in the city, then teaching small English classes in Japan. For now I`ll assume experience means as a teaching assistant. Still seems odd though. Even some teaching assistant jobs require qualifications and...Experience!?

Let us know all know if you get any more information about the salaried scheme!

3. Thanks.

I`ve been looking into the Schools Direct Program. At first i thought it was a replacement for the GTP but the places I`ve seen that are introducing the SDP list a fee of around £9,000. The GTP paid you, right? Am I missing something here?

4. Sorry. I think I`ve figured out the answer to my own question! The SDP is divided between a salaried and non-salaried SDP.

Still can`t find a list of participating schools though...

5. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide