1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Expectations of a Drama Teacher

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by Retro Bates, Jun 17, 2011.

1. I know. Crazy isnt it? I have been doing it for 7 years.

The question is where do you draw the line?. Or is 'drawing a line' only possible in other subjects?

Life is too short, but in all fairness we do only work for half the year!

2. It's all easy, sacrifice a personal and family life altogether, and then die before you're 60 safe in the knowledge that you have been a 'professional', and met the 'expectations' of the job. No need to worry about the pension debate, you won't live long enough.

3. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

I've done those hours... There is no other job where you are expected to be a teacher, director, technician, costume designer, choreographer, musical director, playwright all rolled into one... In a professional theatre such roles would have individuals managing each. I am now however in a school that, to put it bluntly, doesn't want school productions. Funding and use of hall out of question. Being experienced all planning is done and walking into the classroom daily not a challenge. I leave school at 3:30 most days save for the odd meeting (no ones interested in the drama department anyway) or parents evening. Oh well.

4. To reply to myself.
    In my teaching life i have met quite a few brilliant, utterly selfless teachers who are often women, who have no children or personal family life because of the demands of the job. Many of those women have revealed their regret at not persuing some personal happiness more, while being available at the service of their schools less.