1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Exemplar material on A level Art for Scottish teacher

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by williamBrian, Jan 25, 2012.

1. I am about to attend interviews for art teaching jobs overseas, all of which teach the English system, as a Scottish teacher I am unfamiliar with 'A' levels and GCSE'S, however I am a very experienced art teacher in the Scottish system, could anyone recommend any resources that would get me up to speed on the format, standards and admin of the English system.

2. You could go onto the different exam boards' websites and download their specifications. They also have exemplar material to look at for gauging standards and grades. The main boards are OCR,EDEXCEL and AQA.

3. There is an AST teacher Julia Stubbs who has an excellent website with her school's work from Key stage 3 to A level. It has the grades the students gained as well. Edexcel has a communities site which has powerpoints of different units of work in endorsements as exemplars and though I need to log on to get to detailed exam analysis I can usually access these resources from the website without logging on. Unfortunately it does not have the grades achieved on the powerpoints but it shows you the type of work produced in response to the assessment objectives and specification. The subject adviser for Edexcel is excellent and might be worth contacting through the site. The websites are www.juliastubbs.co.uk and if you go onto the edexcel website and click on the subject communities it will get you to the art one,though at the moment it is temporarily down!

4. Hi William,