1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Exam marking whilst teaching abroad

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by JustCricket, Jun 24, 2019.

1. JustCricket

JustCricket New commenter

Hi,

I’m a UK teacher about to move abroad to teach in an international school in China. During June, I usually mark 2-3 exam papers for my subject. The pay isn’t great but I quite like it and would like to keep doing it. There’s lots of threads about tax that I’ve looked at and the general consensus is that you pay tax in the country you work in and not the UK... But the exam boards specify that you need to have a UK bank account to receive payment.

I mustn’t be the first person for this to happen to and some other forum members must also mark GCSE/A level papers whilst abroad as it’s all done online nowadays. So does anyone know how that income is handled for tax purposes?

2. tb9605

tb9605 Occasional commenter

I do it. Check the small print of the contract though - you can mark in an EU country (I'm in Spain) but I'm pretty sure you can't do it elsewhere... not even sure if I'll be able to do it next year thanks Brexshit.

I get paid into a UK bank account and complete a UK tax return (naturally, I'm under the thresh-hold, so don't end up paying any tax). As Spain has a double-taxation agreement with the UK, I don't therefore need to declare this income on my Spanish tax return. The Spanish tax office seem happy with this.

3. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Definitely maintain a uk bank account throughout your time overseas. Makes so many things so much easier.

theintlteacher likes this.
  4. Louise1139

Louise1139 New commenter