1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Exam marking taking too long?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by JaneyEm27, Jun 16, 2019.

1. JaneyEm27

JaneyEm27 New commenter

I have agreed to mark for a new exam board this year. I have been teaching for several years and marked for a couple of different boards, but since moving school I decided to try marking for a new board this year for CPD (and cash!). The problem is, this board seems to take much, much longer per mark than any of my previous marking experience. I also found the standardisation process less enlightening than others I have been through and the results of seeded responses aren't shared with you until the end (which stresses me out, if I am honest).

I understand that a new board will be a learning curve, but I have previously managed to do the bulk of my marking on the weekends (as I work full time) with a couple of hours a night to keep on top of it. I wasn't able to start on the first couple of days of live marking due to a school trip and parent's evening, but I spent 4 hours yesterday and 8 hours today and I haven't even hit 10% of my quota yet. In previous years, that would be me about 25% done! I worked out that even if I started "on time", I would still need to average 4 hours a night for the next 3 weeks and do my weekend catch-up to boot.

Does this seem like a normal length of time to spend marking GCSE essays? (I mark English Literature. I've marked A Level for another board and it didn't take nearly as much time AND my feedback on accuracy was glowing.) What am I doing wrong?