1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ex teachers - what do you do Now?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by dauralora, Sep 14, 2017.

1. dauralora

dauralora New commenter

Hi all.

I'm in my 4th year teaching and I don't want to do this anymore. I've started a new school this year to see if a change in school was what was needed and it's made it even worse. A lot of people tell me it'll get better and they're probably right but I'm just not enjoying it. It's also affecting my mental health and I hate getting up every morning and feel like I'm fighting tears all day. Behaviour isn't great and it's just another battle I feel I have to face. Even in lessons where the kids are perfect, I'm not enjoying it. Just doing it. The thought of doing this for a whole year is filling me with dread but I feel as if I'm trapped and can't leave earlier than a year as I'll be putting pressure on the school.
    For those of you that have left, what do you do Now? Has it been worth it?

henrypm0, Shedman, PE_Factory and 6 others like this.
  2. GLsghost

GLsghost Star commenter

Employment and discrimination Law. Yep, it's very worth it.

Qualified via the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives vocational route, so employers (usually) pay tuition fees. Earn as you learn, working your way up though law firm. Start as legal assistant and develop with the job. Pay is lousy to start, but you can supplement with private tuition, exam marking and benefits top up.

Can you be a lawyer without doing a law degree / LPC? Yep, you certainly can. You can be a judge /coroner / advocate via this route, if you wish.

3. marymoocow

marymoocow Star commenter

4. tsarina

tsarina Occasional commenter