1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ex-teachers I need inspiration!

Discussion in 'Personal' started by SLB_5, Sep 22, 2015.

1. SLB_5

SLB_5 New commenter

Hi, I have been teaching for just over 5 years, and been wanting to leave for at least half of that time. I'm just worried I don't know what else we teachers can do! I know we have lots of transferable schools but everything I've looked it, you seem to need specific experience in that area.
    Need out of this profession :(

2. TCSC47

TCSC47 Star commenter

I certainly think that teachers have a major transferable skill in being able to manage people but what are your HE quals and teaching subject etc?

Also, rather than trying to find another job right now, what about doing some evening classes in some form of vocational qualifications. Knowing that you are at least heading somewhere more sensible in your life may help you to put up with the problems in school for the time being.

An important thing though is to make sure you know exactly why you don't like teaching. I'm not asking you to detail them here, but just to make sure you understand them yourself. All jobs have their bad sides (although I think that teaching is particularly dire at the moment) and you may find that there are ways you can deal with it without leaving the profession. In any case, you will need to explain exactly why you have left a reasonably well paid and secure job, to a future employer, without sounding like a wimp or whinger. People outside teaching don't usually understand the stresses in the job. A lot of them think we have short days, huge holidays and super pensions.