1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ex armed forces considering teaching at 32

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by paul-mcknight, Feb 2, 2018.

1. Hi, I left the armed forces 4 years ago and since leaving I have toyed with the idea of teaching at secondary school level. My questions are:
    1, I would be starting from scratch as I don’t have the quals I.e GCSE but I have equivalents, NVQ, BTEC and functional skills. So what route would be available or best suited to me

2, As a mature student I have commitments like mortgage and young family, would it be possible at this late stage to change career.

3, another idea I have had toyed with is college teaching in the public services subject, what are the requirements for this level to become a college tutor. Are the requirements more or less than training to be a secondary school teacher.

Thanks in advance.

2. saluki

saluki Lead commenter

Contact your local college. Just ring them and ask. You may get pushed from dept to dept but eventually you will get an answer. They should have a teacher training department.
    You will need to get GCSE English and Maths. Then you can do CETs and DETS on the job. I think level 3 BTec is all that is needed for teaching vocational subjects. There are usually vacancies to teach in areas such as construction and motor vehicle as well as Public Services. You probably have a wealth of experience in different areas which gives you more strings to your bow. I am sure that you have got a lot to offer to the FE sector.
    It is possible to change career at this stage. It is up to you and your family whether you can budget or not. If you do a DETs you will receive some pay whilst training.