1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Evacuees ideas?

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by iheartpoetry, Mar 15, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    I'm a PGCE student and have a high ability year 8 class.
    Have scoured the internet for resources but struggling to find inspiration for a great scheme on the evacuees in WW2.
    I've been given complete freedom in terms of how to approach it. I'm exploring it chronologically and we have got as far recreating the train station and saying goodbye. I would like to focus on the train journey next.
    Any ideas at all would be hugely appreciated.
    Many thanks.

2. So - to clarify - you've taken over a scheme but the rest of the scheme is missing, or you are teaching a scheme but planning lesson by lesson?
    Neither sounds satisfactory.
    What's your purpose? What are the children learning - history or Drama?
    There's a holocaust scheme here - put suitcase into search box.

3. I have been given a scheme which consists of a few bullet points for each lesson. Therefore I am pretty much planning lesson by lesson on my own.
    I am a Drama teacher but I want students to empathise with the plight of evacuee children. That's my main purpose.
    My main issue is with the techniques to include in each lesson, rather than the content of the lesson. I am recreating the train journey tomorrow and have already done lots of freeze frames and thought-tracking, plus they are very bright so I want to challenge them.

4. Thanks for the resource link - alas, I am an impoverished student teacher and cannot afford to spend any money on resources.

5. You haven't been given a scheme then.