1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

European Countries

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MathTC, Aug 18, 2019.

1. MathTC

MathTC New commenter

Are there really any European countries where one could teach and make a decent living?

2. MathTC

MathTC New commenter

I’m a math/physics/chemistry teacher trained in Canada with 8 years of experience.

Looking for an adventure. Would bring my family. Don’t have to save a bunch. But don’t want to struggle either.

3. Ne11y

Ne11y Occasional commenter

Eastern Europe has a better salary/cost of living ratio on the whole.

Most Western European countries are expensive, so even a salary which looks promising on paper is unlikely to let you save or do much, especially if you're supporting family.

4. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Please search the forum. This has been discussed many times.

5. MathTC

MathTC New commenter

Thank you! I didn’t know you could search as I could not find the icon on my phone.

6. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

As usual, old gulfers is indeed correct and the issue of teaching in Europe (as opposed to the ME or SE Asia) has been discussed many times.

As I see it, it really boils down to the matter of accommodation. Lots of schools in Europe might give you a job and then pay you quite a good salary, but if you are going to pay out a large dollop of your salary on the rent each month then you are not going to save much. Some schools in Eastern Europe, like my present school in Sofia, do provide quite a nice apartment, so this smelly old hippo gets to keep most of his (fairly modest) salary.