1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Establishing my own rules!

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by GeogTrainee1905, Nov 12, 2015.

1. GeogTrainee1905

GeogTrainee1905 New commenter

Hi all,

I am a trainee teacher and mostly loving my experience of school so far - very busy but very exciting as well and I'm learning a huge amount every day :)

However, I am really struggling with one of my host teachers - he is very friendly and, what I would say is, soft on the students. They are a very naughty, unfocused class and he doesn't do much to reign them in... which of course is fine as that is his style. I am very nervous to take them on though and try to establish my own set of rules and routines.

Does anyone have any advice for me on how to go about this? They are by far my most challenging class that I will be taking on and I think it will be great practice learning how to behaviour manage... but I don't want it to go completely wrong!

Thank you!

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Hi GeogTrainee1905

There is a book I always recommend to people for behaviour management and it is called Taking Care of Behaviour by Paul Dix and is one of the best book on behaviour management I have read. Also anything by Bill Rogers is a good investment, but I would start out with the Taking Care of Behaviour book. It is available on Amazon for about £15 and is well worth your money.

You are right to think about establishing your own rules. You need to communicate to the class in a firm but friendly tone that you have three rules ( taken from the book) and they are:

1. Follow instructions fast
    2. Stay on Task
    3 Work without disturbing others