1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Establishing classroom routines

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by aprilsmith92, Mar 1, 2019.

1. aprilsmith92

aprilsmith92 New commenter

I'm a trainee teacher and thinking of the best to organise my classes at the beginning and end of my lessons as currently, it seems a bit chaotic! The general routine across the school is that books are spread out on a couple of tables at the front of the room as teachers keep all exercise books in boxes (the pupils are generally not allowed to take their books home as they often forget them).

Pupils are lined up outside the classroom before entering, and I greet the pupils as they come in. However the process of then having to find their books and get to their seats is too noisy and chaotic and doesn't help in settling the pupils quickly and quietly.

I'm currently at my B placement (grammar school) and like their routine of standing behind their chairs with their equipment out and then the pupils sit down when the teacher is ready to start the lesson. Anybody who is late can then be easily identified. I was thinking I could ask a couple of pupils to hand out books but am concerned that this would take too long and pupils already take a while to write the date and title as it is. Those who then don't receive their book first may become distracted.

Is anyone else in the same situation with giving out books, or does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

pepper5 likes this.
  2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

If you have time, you could place the books on the students' desks before they come in. That,however, will create more work for you.