1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ESL and Autism

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by chereneonline, Aug 23, 2017.

1. chereneonline

chereneonline New commenter

Help Please!

I am an ESL teacher. I teach the following students:

Once per week - 4yr old girl - Auditory Processing Disorder
    3 x per week - 4yr old boy - On autism spectrum, but cannot get details of his condition from the school. He displays no interest in class activities and is often violent towards the other three boys in his class (there are only four kids in this class) without provocation.
    In the same class, another boy is very vocal, uncooperative and disruptive.

Now, I am new to teaching and I need all the help I can get.
    I have worked out a few ideas for the 4yr old girl, but how do I get a class of 4yr old boys to work with me. I only have 45minutes with them at a time.

2. Dodros

Dodros Star commenter

Special educational provision only works properly when all stakeholders, parents, teachers, outside agencies collaborate to meet a vulnerable learner's needs. If you are delivering your ESL lessons within a school that claims to meet the needs of every student regardless of age or ability, you need to insist on access to the educational history of the young learners in your charge, including details of the diagnosis of their SEN condition and the recommendations of the diagnostician regarding follow-up procedures and interventions.