1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Equivalency testing anyone uses them?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pixiesmum, Jan 9, 2020.

1. pixiesmum

pixiesmum New commenter

Hi I’m looking to get in to teaching, ideally primary so although I have a degree I don’t have a science GCSE.

my research led me to a site called equivalency testing dot com - They run courses (distance learning) over 16 weeks (or quicker if you want) and then you take the exam at a centre.... has anyone studied with them and taken the exam? I’d really be interested in anyone’s feedback especially before I commit financially.

many thanks

2. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

I think you need to check if the uni you want to do your PGCE at accepts the qualification.

TheOracleAtDelphi likes this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Do you need a science GCSE to be a teacher?
    WOW!

Can you just use books and so on to brush up on science and then take the exam in a college or some such this summer?

4. pixiesmum

pixiesmum New commenter

A Science GCSE is needed to teach in state primary schools in uk. My question is about the website/company called EQUIVALENCY TESTING & whether anyone has any feedback Or knowledge on that. Thanks

5. TheOracleAtDelphi

TheOracleAtDelphi Occasional commenter

I can't work out whether you are being sarcastic or not, caterpillartobutterfly?