1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Enhancement Of ill Health Benefits

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by conar, Dec 5, 2015.

1. conar

conar New commenter

Hello,
    I am new to this , so I really hope some-one can help me. my story is very old- I had been a teacher of deaf children for 8 years when I had to retire in 1998. I was diagnosed with a progressive, neurological condition that has left me completely incapacitated and unable to take any type of further employment. It is difficult to merely exist.
    At the time, although I was employed by an LEA, my immediate "boss" was the chief Educational Psychologist, as I was an Advisory Teacher, with county -wide responsibility -not based at one school. When I began to become ill, I told my immediate "boss" the Ed Psych. and he said I should resign from my job, and return when I felt better. I left my post, having resigned due to ill health.
    I heard nothing from the teachers pensions, and when I finally contacted them -in 1995-the lateness was due to terrible ill health/hospitalisation/ operations/death of both parents etc etc. and me adjusting to life in a wheelchair. -I was told nothing had been received regarding my ill health. I sent in a letter from a doctor -who did not even know me-as I did not understand what was required of me, and I was given, based on that one letter a lump sum of £2000 plus I receive a pension of £189 a months.