1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

English planning from scratch :(

Discussion in 'English' started by Danielle1988, Dec 21, 2011.

1. Hi there, I am a year 5/6 teacher looking for some inspiration. My next English topic is novels or short stories selected from more than one genre. The topic should cover reading a range of fiction texts from different genres and looking at characteristics of each.
    Does anyone have any ideas or popular textx as to which fiction texts would be good to do with year 5/6 from different genres? The texts also need to be quite short.
    Any help would be greatly appreicated :)

2. Hi there, I am a year 5/6 teacher looking for some inspiration. My next English topic is novels or short stories selected from more than one genre. The topic should cover reading a range of fiction texts from different genres and looking at characteristics of each.
    Does anyone have any ideas or popular textx as to which fiction texts would be good to do with year 5/6 from different genres? The texts also need to be quite short.
    Any help would be greatly appreicated :)

3. sunflower48

sunflower48 New commenter

Look on the Standards website, novels.

4. j_pink

j_pink New commenter

I'm teaching a short story called "The Black Cat" by Edgar Allen Poe (Horror) and also "Through the Tunnel" (Adventure) by Doris Lessing which are both popular texts with resources available (although my activities are all in hard copy).
    I am using a particuarly good short stories collection by Longman "Stories Old and New". Found it gathering dust at the back of the book store!

5. GloriaSunshine

GloriaSunshine New commenter