1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

English graduate with weak subject knowledge.

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by misscanarian80, Oct 31, 2017.

1. misscanarian80

misscanarian80 New commenter

Hello there,

I am really hoping somebody can give me some advice please.

I graduated this year with a First in English and I even won the English Program Prize for excellence in my research. My degree was very Literature heavy, so knowing my grammar was poor and my knowledge of 'English Language' was weaker, I purposely elected to study the language based modules, yet it has had little effect. I am an English graduate who still doesn't know the rules and intricacies of English!

I am currently in the first phase of my Secondary English PGCE, and I am ashamed to say that many of the students have a better understanding of grammar and language than I do! I am a mature graduate, so the KS2 Glossary has only been a recent admission to my knowledge bank. Furthermore, I did not sit A-Level English. I completed a Level 3 Diploma to gain my place at Uni, so I have little working knowledge of grammar and language at KS3, 4 and beyond.

In order to try and plug the gaps I am constantly revising. I use the BBC's GCSE Bitesize and Grammar Monster but it is taking a huge amount of effort for it all to sink in. I feel so stressed out about it and I am concerned my inability to be proficient in these areas will impact on my students' progress more than anything!

Can any of you suggest anything to help?

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter