1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Engaging textiles project

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by dons1, Mar 31, 2012.

1. Hi everyone, I was wondering if any of you textile teachers could give me any advice?

I'm new to teaching and have been doing supply since last September. I have recently been covering textiles due to long term illness (my background is textiles). I have found this at times quite challenging; I'm not the students usual teacher, generally some students are poorly behaved and some of the projects are not engaging.
    I have the opportunity of changing the year 9 scheme of work. They have already chosen their options for GCSE and none have opted for textiles (it is not run as a GCSE anymore due to a lack of students opting it). Therefore, I need something exciting yet achievable as most of the students have no interest.

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. lapinrose

lapinrose Lead commenter

T shirt personalising. Can be done using fabric paint, appliqué, embroidery, beadwork.
    Belts, involving all of the above plus stiffening.
    Wall hanging for bedroom, their own interests.

3. We have done all of the following projects with year 9:
    Monsters (either making them for children or as mascots) also sock monsters (one boy declared this was his best ever tech project when he finished this week!
    Fleece ski hats - get them to make them in football teacm colours and use embroidery machine to put team name on. They love this.
    Fleece jackets
    Waistcoats - more complex but works well with high ability