1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Encouraging Yr 6 To Take Some Responsibility!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by tin rose, Feb 23, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am a new teacher and have recently taken over a rather unmotivated Year 6 class. Their behaviour is mainly ok, though there are the usual tricky ones who can disrupt the class, but the others are just kind of drifting along.
    Thought I'd have a go at dishing out some badges for PE monitors, book monitors etc. which I actually think they MAY respond to (as the are quite sweet really) to try to get some cohesion and sense of responsibility in class - especially in PE which is a nightmare!!! - but am not sure how to go about this:
    should I pick names from a hat (what if they are paired with their deadly enemy in class?! Seriously, there are some issues here)
    or choose them myself (rather dictatorial)
    or ask for volunteers in pairs (...help!)
    Any advice would be great. Thanks.

2. Hi,
    I am a new teacher and have recently taken over a rather unmotivated Year 6 class. Their behaviour is mainly ok, though there are the usual tricky ones who can disrupt the class, but the others are just kind of drifting along.
    Thought I'd have a go at dishing out some badges for PE monitors, book monitors etc. which I actually think they MAY respond to (as the are quite sweet really) to try to get some cohesion and sense of responsibility in class - especially in PE which is a nightmare!!! - but am not sure how to go about this:
    should I pick names from a hat (what if they are paired with their deadly enemy in class?! Seriously, there are some issues here)
    or choose them myself (rather dictatorial)