1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Employability after PGCE (no A levels)

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by CocoaChannel, May 20, 2020.

1. CocoaChannel

CocoaChannel New commenter

I’m wary of giving too many specifics, e.g. subjects, but I’ll try and give the facts.

I’m applying for a PGCE science place and have a couple of interviews lined up. Another provider, however, advised by e-mail that my lack of A levels will make it very tricky for me to secure employment at the end of the course. They might interview me, but I guess they are trying to be helpful and suggesting I do an A level in the subject and try again.

I have a decent degree from a Russell Group uni (not relevant) but entered university via a foundation course. The degree was directly relevant to my intended PGCE subject, I know the subject well, and it is an “in demand” subject.

Glossing over slightly what the recruitment situation will be like in September 2021, how valid is that course provider’s comment about employability without A levels?

2. 43Meadows

43Meadows New commenter

There is no requirement to have any A levels to be employed as a teacher, you need your QTS and PGCE. To get those you will have met the requirements such as having a degree.

sabram86, Marisha, Stiltskin and 2 others like this.
  3. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter

Your foundation year at university is the equivalent of A levels.

Marisha, agathamorse and CocoaChannel like this.
  4. phatsals

phatsals Senior commenter