1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Either you can or cant?

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by oskarcat, Jan 20, 2011.

1. I've been teaching drama for a few years now, working with children of all ages, in various places, from schools to clubs.
    I am a trained teacher in Secondary and have enjoyed working with many different year groups.
    My only personal downfall is my lack of academia. I didnt study drama at school and I got my degree through practical and performance work as opposed to the theory behind it all. I have never had to perform or study a Shakespeare and I've never written an essay about Arthur Miller.
    When much of the drama coursework in the upper stages rely so much on the written work, I stumble and feel quite ashamed that I seem to know so little despite my wealth of experience and other knowledge. I have had 16 year olds tell me the themes behind a play, where I have been completely unaware. [​IMG]
    Colleagues believe I can 'learn' how to do this, but can I??? Can I really just pick up 'The Crucible' for example and learn what its saying? or can I just regurgitate some stuff from the web with no real understanding? I dont think I can do that.
    How can I possibly expect a pupil to write an essay on a subject I have little understanding of, let alone have no experience of writing myself??
    So, Can I learn? or is it now too late? Either you've got it or you aint....... is this how it is?
    this has been niggling me for some time so your opinions are appreciated..
    Much obliged.

2. I've been teaching drama for a few years now, working with children of all ages, in various places, from schools to clubs.