1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

EHCP provision help

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by honeypie1, Jun 21, 2017.

1. honeypie1

honeypie1 New commenter

Hi all,
    I am a teacher, but this is actually a personal query. I'm not a SENCo myself, so wanted to seek advice from those who are... is it ethical for a FFI coordinator at a LA to be dictating what provision goes into an EHCP? I thought it was the caseworker's duty to ensure that the EHCP contained the provision required to meet a child's needs, rather than the FFI coordinator dictating what they will pay for. I realise that in the real world this may happen, but in principle, is it not supposed to be that the needs come first and the budget follows?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

2. Dodros

Dodros Star commenter