1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

EDUQAS GCSE English Language 9-1 - anyone done it?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by calumlaw, May 30, 2017.

1. calumlaw

calumlaw New commenter

,Hi,

I'm a GCSE lecturer at a large FE college. We've just done a year (the final year) of IGCSE, which has gone well in terms of student engagement/motivation, and we're hoping for a significant uptick in results from our somewhat pitiful performance under the old AQA spec.

It's with heavy heart however that I read through the latest 9-1 spec; knowing our cohort (those who scored 3 on a 9-pont scale) I feel it's going to be a really tough year, even if many know the spec from school. I was looking over the Eduqas spec though and it seems a lot more accessible/'scaffolded'. I wondered, had any FE teachers out there had experience this year of delivering this spec, and if so, how had they found it.

2. crampsfan

crampsfan New commenter

We haven't done it yet but are busy planning for Eduqas next year, having done their legacy exam this. Is it too late to go to one of their training sessions? I found the one I went to somewhat reassuring. (Know what you mean about the level 3 candidates. It's concerning that they'll be weaker than the Ds we get now!)

3. Maresa Brand

Maresa Brand New commenter