1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

*** education

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by dash201, Dec 28, 2011.

1. dash201

dash201 New commenter

Hi all. I have been offered a telephone interview for the 3rd January.

I have a few questions but here is my background.

I am a fully qualified teacher with 8 years experience in England. I plan to go with my non-teaching wife. Here are my questions.

1. What is the salary at a *** school roughly? I have read ?1500 a month (£1255). Is this correct? If so, I will hang up on them if they confirm this on the interview. And laugh. I currently take home £1900 a month.

2. Is this actually a worthwhile school? Or is it basically a TEFL school in disguise?

I think this will do for now. I apologise if anyone feels that I am being arrogant or anything like that but this is my future and I would rather do research first.

Many thanks, Chris.

2. Karvol

Karvol Occasional commenter

You might want to give a bit more information regarding the school.

3. dash201

dash201 New commenter

Sorry, when I first posted, it gave me ***. The school is S a b i s in Sharjah. Thanks.

4. Karvol

7000 dhs per month.
    A bit crappy, but if that is what they are offering, that is really what they are offering.
    If you do not like it ( and it is quite easy to see why! ) there will be others to fill your place, so the school will not feel too heart broken about it.

5. Sharjah is a bit dull, although it is only 40 minutes from Dubai - if that tickles you. That salary that you suspect is pizz poor. The schools you refer to are all over the place. I wouldn't say don't work at them, but there are some I wouldn't entertain.