1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Education Student - Dissertation

Discussion in 'Primary' started by amberlily1144, Jan 11, 2020.

1. amberlily1144

amberlily1144 New commenter

Hiya!
    I am a 3rd year student studying Education and Early Years, my future goal is to be a primary school teacher.
    My dissertation is aiming to explore the roles and responsibilities of TA's in KS1 and the ways they can enhance the classroom.
    I want to conduct a focus group with the children, using sorting hoops and images to understand their views on TA roles.
    Imagine a venn diagram - one side for teachers roles, one for TA's and the middle for roles belonging to both.
    I am struggling with images to use for things like emotional support, classroom management etc? Roles outside of timetabled lessons for which I can use visual timetable images.
    Hope this makes sense, I just wondered if anyone had any ideas on how what type of images I could use which make it clear to the children?

2. indigo987

indigo987 New commenter

Think about what exact roles you mean, and how the children would see them e.g. who helps a child who is stuck with their work? Who helps a child who fell over in the playground? Who helps a child who doesn't have a friend/ is feeling sad/ doesn't understand their homework/ isn't behaving well?

3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Ks1 children are unlikely to understand venn diagrams.

4. celago22

celago22 Occasional commenter

You'd need to talk to children, TAs, teachers, senior leaders.

Often the TAs take a more Pastoral role, others take on an admin role and others have to be directed and guided constantly and may lead interventions.