1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Edexcel/Pearson Examiner

Discussion in 'Education news' started by olli808, Aug 9, 2018.

1. olli808

olli808 New commenter

Good morning
    Has anyone else had any negative experience with Pearson this year? I have been working as GCE/GCSE History examiner for over 12 years (mainly AQA/ Edexcel in 2016 and 18) and I have never experienced such a mess before. The lack of communication, poor quality of team leader, lack of guidance/structure etc made me terminate my contract with Pearson’s four days after the standardisation meeting. They also still haven’t paid me for the new examiner training and the standardisation meeting. Is it just me who has had such negative experience with Pearson’s this year?

2. Scintillant

Scintillant Star commenter

I have worked for them for many years as an expert examiner but decided that last year was to be my last. For many of the above reasons. The direction of travel has been clear for a few years now and I am not surprised by your experience.

tbau likes this.
  3. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

I wonder what would happen if most/all examiners decided it wasn't worth doing the job...;)

[FYI I gave up after 2006, having marked at different times for OCR, Edexcel & AQA for nearly 20 years]

4. olli808

olli808 New commenter

The most frustrating thing was the lack of communication. I had to chase up everything myself and I have stopped counting the phone calls to their helpline. I also wrote a long email to Pearson, explaining in detail why I decided not to mark any papers this year. No reply.
    I marked papers for Edexcel in 2016 and everything was fine then.

5. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter