1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Edexcel modular maths GCSE

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by elizabeth1972, Mar 3, 2012.

1. Could anyone please shed some light on this for me? I'm a primary teacher, and my son (aged 14 in Y10) is taking a modular exam on Monday. Although we've been revising for a while, looking at what he has been doing in class, We've only just (Friday) been given the board and paper details so I can get a real past paper online. They've been giving them both AQA and Edexcel papers to revise with!
    He took a past paper for homework about 2 weeks ago. Some of it he simply could not do. It's been a long time since I did GCSE maths and although I could help with most of it, there was also some I couldn't do. He highlighted the questions he had no idea about, and I wrote a note asking if he could have some extra help with those topics before the exam. He got the marked paper back yesterday, and has had none of his questions answered.
    He scored 27/60, and the teacher had written "3 more for a level B" on the paper. She had in fact not marked one question, which was correct and worth 3 marks.
    We've searched online to try and find another past paper, but the one we've just tried seems much harder than the one he was given in school.
    All I could find was: http://www.edexcel.com/migrationdocuments/GCSE2010/Maths-B-SAM-WEB.pdf
    He's doing the Higher Tier, Unit 2.
    What really worries me is that, at aged 14, he hasn't covered the full maths curriculum yet. We've just done the online paper I found, together, and there is so much he doesn't know (or areas where he can't apply existing knowledge) that I think he'll only manage to get a C.