1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Edexcel GCSE drama results: a world of make-believe

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by sackbarrow, Aug 25, 2011.

1. OK, here's my tuppenceworth.
    I've been teaching Edexcel GCSE drama for the last few years, but by
    trade I'm an MFL teacher - only started with the drama to help the school out,
    really. I've been teaching MFL to GCSE
    and A level for almost three decades. My
    GCSE drama group have been walloped by the mod in unit 2 this year and lost a lot
    of their marks. Note, incidentally, that our marking for unit 1 was described as
    too severe (but no marks were added on, of course). Additionally, their unit 3 marks are pretty
    humdrum. Needless to say, since
    September 2009, I - and they - had spent much time combing over the new spec
    trying to ensure that everything was done as requested. But here's the point - these kids put a huge
    amount of effort into this GCSE, and I can guarantee you that if they had
    instead done French, say, or German with me to GCSE and put in the same kind of
    effort, they would have got one if not two grades higher in their results.

Why? I think it's to
    do with the way the subjects are examined.
    MFL is basically straightforward - you learn a fair amount of vocab,
    master some opinion/justification sentences, get up to speed with three verb
    tenses at a very basic level and learn a set list of useful phrases and other
    bits and pieces, and there you go - you'll get a grade C, no problem. It's a basic GCSE spec that does what it says
    on the tin, and you and your kids know what to do to press the right
    buttons. Access to higher grades is