1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Edexcel GCSE Business Studies: 2014 - 2015 CA - Task 1 Rival Businesses

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by nathan_rees, Aug 17, 2014.

1. nathan_rees

nathan_rees New commenter

This is my first year teaching Business Studies and I will be taking through a year 11 class, which involves the CA. My HOD have told me to go for task 1 - which looks at rival businesses. Is any body able to clarify what information and topics students would need to focus on to carry out this CA. Any help or tips with this task would be hugely appreciated. See email below:

email address - nree1503@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk

2. jmacjm

jmacjm New commenter

Everything you need is on the edexcel web site take your time to absorb it all carefully before you start. Try to hook up with a neighbour and discussi. Remember it only relates to chapter one in the intro to small business book.

3. nathan_rees

Could students discuss different pricing strategies - such as price skimming,, penetration pricing, etc. Even though it is not on the spec?

4. jmacjm

jmacjm New commenter

It's there alright but in Unit 3. Unit 2 is an application of the theory in Unit1. Careful how you go my friend.

5. going grey quickly

going grey quickly New commenter

be very careful of you telling the students which task to undertake; especially if they all use the same business! The moderator will want 10 CAs plus highest and lowest (if they aren't in the requested sample). Students are supposed to chose themselves which task to undertake

6. nathan_rees

Could students be penalised? As it doesn't say students must choose by themselves.

7. nathan_rees

And is chapter 1 only relevant then?