1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Edexcel AS Foundations

Discussion in 'Religious Education' started by rainbowsandrain, Jul 15, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    I am starting as an NQT in September and have just got my timetable. I will be teaching Year 12 the Investigations part of the AS course and was just wondering if anyone had any advice on how to teach it/what kind of timescale to work to as I have no experience of it and am feeling a little lost.
    My department haven't really given me any guidance yet, but I've read up about it on the Edexcel website. My understanding is that I will need to prepare students for a 1hr 15 min exam on a topic related to medical ethics, which in my case will be abortion. I will have three 45 min lessons a week with them.
    My initial thoughts are to do a few introductory lessons on 'What is ethics'? and absolute/relative morality before going through each of the ethical theories (Natural Law, Utilitarianism, Situation Ethics). Then, around November I would introduce the idea of abortion - sanctity of life, personhood, rights and responsibilities, social issues etc, then do exam practice.
    Does this seem reasonable? Does anyone have any guidance on how many lessons should be spent on each topic? I am keen to do well in my NQT year and I am very conscious that I don't want to let the students down - I am really feeling the sense of responsibility of being a 'real teacher' rather than a trainee and want to do my best for myself, my school and my students.

2. Hi everyone,